Open Your Heart…Speak Your Truth.

Truth

On the last day of June on a Sunday afternoon, at a yoga studio in the heart of Lahaina, Maui, I gathered with 15 vivacious women  and their energies, prepared to walk down the path of deeper discovery to open our heart and speak our truth.

Led by the beautiful souls of Jennifer Loftus of NIA & Intuitive Yoga Goddess, Julie Mitchell, I read the flyer and was excited about the itinerary.  A extended yoga session then NIA movement and dancing, was already a time well spent before it started.  Many of us in the the group were already involved in the yoga community at Island Spirit Yoga Studio and had some interaction with the instructors and their style of teaching, we came ready to practice and evolve.

yoga3

The opening circle begged me to open the box that is only shared with the deepest corners of my dreams and always contain various amounts of certainty…with the question  –“What is your Truth?” …the day began.

What was supposed to be 2 hours quickly transpired into 3 as truths began to unfold thru connection. Connection with my breath, my voice and physical sensations in my body. Our spirits emerged and revealed itself to each other and ourselves.  NIA’s aim is to make movement more conscious to allow the release of blocked energy and with the expansion of Yoga, healing was intended and initiated.  By owning my space in this workshop, I began shedding the layers that kept me contained in the box of societies expectations and the opinions of those that I allowed to occupy space in the process of my life.  What I did not expect, was what would happen to my perspective in the moments, hours, days and now weeks to follow.

dsc_6293

To open your heart and speak your truth, it takes creating space and to create space you have to move stuff around…deeply. Thru the loving, nurturing, playful and sharing guidance of Jennifer and Julie, space cleared and opened up a deeper portal to my heart, deeper gratitude of my spirit and empowered me to become and speak my deeper truth.

This distinction is not just about semantics or words, it is total shift in perspective and context. When we let go of being “right” about our opinions and take responsibility for our experience, we can speak our truth from a much deeper and more authentic place.  Speaking this deeper truth liberates us and has the potential to make a difference for others while bringing us closer together.

Leave a Reply

